13th Annual UC Davis Pre-Medical and Pre-Health Professions National Conference

2015-logo UCDPrehealth

The 13th Annual UC Davis Pre-Medical and Pre-Health Professions National Conference takes place Sat., Oct. 10 – Sun., Oct. 11. The theme of the conference is: “Dedication, Compassion, Innovation: Changing the Future of Healthcare and Research.”

Based on a quick look at both a recent email newsletter and their website, it is quickly apparent why the conference is the largest – and best – of its kind.

Who Is Invited?

From their website: “The conference is open to students from community college, CSU and UC campuses, and private universities, as well as post-baccalaureate pre-health applicants; parents of students interested in a medical profession; high school and college academic counselors and advisors; and anyone who is interested in a career in medicine, public health, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, or any of the other health professional areas listed further above.

“In short, the conference is open to everyone!”

Below are some additional highlights about the conference culled from the newsletter and the website. For additional details, be sure to check out the conference website at www.ucdprehealth.org.

Full Pre-Health Professions Programming

– Medicine (MD/DO)
– Public Health
– Pharmacy
– Dentistry
– Nursing
– Veterinary Medicine
– Physician Assistant
– PhD & STEM
– Physical and Occupational Therapy
– Optometry
– Chiropractic
– Podiatric Medicine
– Naturopathic Medicine

Featuring Deans of Admission from over 500 Health-Professions schools

Conference will include:

– 150 Medical Schools
– 35 Pharmacy Schools
– 35 Dentistry Schools
– 35 Nursing Schools
– 25 Public Health Schools
– 15 Veterinary Schools
– 25 Graduate and STEM Schools
– 15 Physician Assistant Schools
– 15 Physical and Occupational Therapy Programs
– 5 Optometry Program

Conference Highlights
– Over 25 Deans of Admission Panel and Q&A Sessions
– Over 350 Workshops!
– Interactive Workshops in suture, casting, ultrasound, intubation, and VetMed
– Pre-Health Professions Fair (over 700 Programs Represented)
– Over 15 Health Professions Student Panels
– Inspirational Stories
– World Renown Speakers
– Over 2000 Speakers (Deans of Medical and Health Professions Schools, Physicians, Pharmacists, Dentists, Public Health Professionals, Veterinarians, PAs, Researchers in STEM, Physical and Occupational Therapists, Optometrists, and more!)
– Over 400 Physicians in every specialty
– Poster Session for College and Health Professions students


Pre-Registration: $25.00, Nov 1, 2014 to Dec 31, 2014
Early: $35.00, Jan 1, 2015 to Jun 30, 2015
Regular: $45.00 Jul 1, 2015 to Aug 31, 2015
Late: $55.00 Sept 1, 2015 to Oct 9, 2015
At-Door: $60.00 Oct 10, 2015 to Oct 11, 2015
Group: $35.00, Nov 1, 2014 to Oct 4, 2015 (min 7 tickets)

All Inclusive Packages for $95.00 Registration Deadline: October 4, 2015 (or until sold out)
– Access to All Keynote Sessions
– Access to Over 350 Workshops
– Access to All sessions
– Access to Pre-Health Professions Fair
– Bus Transportation from: UCSD, UC Riverside, UC Irvine, UCLA, USC, Mt. Sac, UC Merced, Fresno State, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UC Santa Cruz, UC Santa Barbara, and U of Oregon. Available and open to EVERYONE

Limited Fee Waivers & Free Housing Available

For More Information and Registration, please visit: http://www.UCDPreHealth.org

This conference has sold out the last 12 years, so register early!

Keynote Speakers (in alphabetic order)
more TBA


David Carlisle, M.D., Ph.D., President and CEO, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science;
Michael Clearfield, D.O., Dean, Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine;
Julie Freischlag, M.D., Dean, University of California at Davis, School of Medicine
Sam Hawgood, M.B.B.S., Chancellor, University of California, San Francisco;
David Hoyt, M.D., Executive Director, American College of Surgeons;
Lloyd Minor, M.D., Dean, Stanford University School of Medicine;
Janis Orlowski, M.D., Chief Health Care Officer, Association of American Medical Colleges;
Robert Pearl, M.D., Executive Director and CEO, The Permanente Medical Group;
John Prescott, M.D., Chief Academic Officer, Association of American Medical Colleges;
Indu Subaiya, M.D., M.B.A., Chairman and CEO, Health 2.0;
Steven Weinberger, M.D., Executive Vice President and CEO, American College of Physicians;

Ann Bonham, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer, Association of American Medical Colleges;
John Boothroyd, Ph.D., Associate Vice-Provost for Graduate Education, Stanford University;
Carol Greider, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate in Medicine, Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine;
Randy Schekman, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate in Medicine, Professor, University of California, Berkeley;

John Featherstone, Ph.D., M.Sc., Dean, University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry;
Patrick Ferrillo, Jr., D.D.S., Dean, University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry;
Steven Friedrichsen, D.D.S., Dean, Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine;

B. Joseph Guglielmo, Pharm.D., Dean, University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy;
James McKerrow, M.D., Ph.D., Dean, University of California, San Diego Skaggs School of Pharmacy;
Daniel Robinson, Pharm.D., Dean, Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy;
R. Pete Vanderveen, Ph.D., R.Ph., M.S., Dean, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy;

Marilyn Chow, R.N., Ph.D., Vice President, National Patient Care Services, Kaiser Permanente;
Linda Sarna, R.N., Ph.D., Dean, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Nursing;

Public Health
Stefano Bertozzi, M.D., Ph.D., Dean, University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health;
Jody Heymann, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.P., Dean, University of California, Los Angeles Fielding School of Public Health;
David Nash, M.D., M.B.A., Dean, Jefferson School of Population Health;

Physical Therapy
Kimberly Topp, PT, PhD, Chair, University of California, San Francisco Physical Therapy Program

Veterinary Medicine
Carlos Campos, D.V.M., Veterinarian, San Francis Veterinary Hospital;
Joseph Kinnarney, D.V.M., M.S., President, American Veterinary Medical Association;
Barbara Natterson-Horowitz, M.D., Co-Director, Evolutionary Medicine Program – University of California, Los Angeles;

More to be announced online.